Thursday, 11 July 2013

And the Winner of 2013 RAS “A” Group Award goes to…

Dr Marc Sarzi
...the SAURON team!

The Royal Astronomical Society (RAS) has awarded the 2013 RAS "A" Group award to the SAURON team, which includes Dr Marc Sarzi from the University of Hertfordshire’s Centre for Astrophysics Research (CAR).

This prize, which honours groups that have made an outstanding contribution to astronomy, was presented at last week’s 2013 UK National Astronomy Meeting held at St Andrews, Scotland.

Dr Sarzi was central to the SAURON team effort, having published two of the twenty-one team referred papers and also the third most cited paper of this project.   His analysis of the ionised-gas component of early-type galaxies helps dispel the preconception that these systems are purely stellar systems with little or no gas.

SAURON is an integral field spectrograph (which combines spectrographic and imaging capabilities in a large aperture, high resolution telescope) used by the SAURON project team to study the evolution of elliptical galaxies by making detailed observations of samples of nearby objects.

The SAURON initiative combines an impressive and optimised instrument design with the careful use of models and simulations to interpret the results, and a high degree of organisation across the collaboration.

The full list of SAURON team awardees is: M. Cappellari, R.L. Davies (Oxford University), R. Bacon (Observatoire de Lyon), E. Emsellem, H. Kuntschner, D. Krajnović (European Southern Observatory), P.T. de Zeeuw (ESO and Leiden Observatory), J. Falcón-Barroso (Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias), R.M McDermid (Gemini Observatories), R.F. Peletier (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute Groningen), M. Sarzi (University of Hertfordshire), R.C.E. van den Bosch, G. van de Ven (Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie).
Associates and former team members include: M. Bureau (Oxford University), C.M. Carollo (ETH Zürich), Y. Copin (Institut de physique nucléaire de Lyon), H. Jeong (Yonsei University), G. Monnet (ESO), B. Miller (Gemini Observatory), N. Scott (Oxford University), K. Shapiro-Griffin (Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems), E. Verolme (Leiden Observatory) and A. Weijmans (Dunlap Institute for Astronomy & Astrophysics).

No comments:

Post a Comment